continuing education, physical therapy, occupational therapy - rehabedge.com

Printer Friendly Copy

Mary Massery’s LINKED: Breathing & Postural Control - LIVE WEBINAR- Two Half-Day Sessions

Education Resources, Inc.


Format(s):   Live Webinar
Discipline(s):   Physical Therapy / Occupational Therapy / Speech-Language
Contact Hours:   8
Registration Fee:   $229


Objectives
Describe how trunk pressures link breathing and postural control using the Soda Pop Can Model.
Describe the multiple, simultaneous roles of the diaphragm as related to breathing, postural control, gastroesophageal reflux, constipation, and venous return.
Demonstrate the role of the vocal folds in normal postural stability responses (balance) and make the case for using speaking valves for patients with tracheostomies.
Contrast normal infant chest wall development to those with impaired breathing mechanics. Position patients for optimal physiological and biomechanical support of breathing with simple equipment (towels, pillows, etc.).
Use a ventilatory strategy algorithm presented in class to optimally match breathing with movements from bed mobility to athletic endeavors.
Apply concepts to a wide variety of patient populations from infancy to geriatrics.

Confirmation Notes
This course meets the criteria for 8 contact hours (0.8) CEUs, Intermediate Level. Most Physical Therapy State Boards accept webinars as a live offering. Please check with your state board to confirm. Approved by the MD Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. Application has been made to the FL, NJ, NV, and NM Boards of Physical Therapy. Approved sponsor by the State of IL Department of Financial and Professional Regulation for Physical Therapy for 9.5 contact hours. Approved provider by the NY State Board of Physical Therapy for 9.6 contact hours (0.96 CEUs). Education Resources, Inc. is an approved provider for Physical Therapy CEUs in the following states: CA, KY, and TX. The following state boards of physical therapy accept other states’ approval: AK, AR, AZ, DC, DE, GA, HI, ID, IN, KS, MI, MO, MS, OR, PA, RI, SC, UT, VA, VT, WI, WY. APTA NC accept other state board's approvals. The following state boards of physical therapy either do not require course pre-approval or do not require CEUs for re-licensure: AL, CO, CT, IA, MA, ME, MT, NE, ND, NH, SD, WA. Approved provider of continuing education by the American Occupational Therapy Association #3043, for 8 contact hours – Intermediate Level Occupational Therapy Process: assessment, intervention. The assignment of AOTA CEUs does not imply endorsement of specific course content, products or clinical procedures by AOTA. NBCOT professional development provider- 8 PDUs. Approved provider of the FL Board of Occupational Therapy-CE Broker This course meets the approval of the TX Board of OT Examiners. This course is offered for up to 0.8 ASHA CEUs (Intermediate level, Professional area). This program has been submitted for approval of 8 clock hours of continuing education credit by the TX Speech Language-Hearing-Association (TSHA). TSHA approval does not imply endorsement of course content, specific products or clinical procedures.

Description
Day 1 of Mary Massery’s 3-day BREATHING COURSE
Early Bird Rate: Register before December 24, 2020 and use code LINKEDFEB at checkout to receive a reduced rate of $215/person.
February 5, 2021
1:40 pm EST• 12:40 pm CT• 11:40 am MST• 10:40 am PT (US)
AND
February 6, 2021
9:10 am EST • 8:10 am CT• 7:10 am MST• 6:10 am PT (US)
This course, developed by Mary Massery, will challenge the practitioner to make a paradigm shift: connecting breathing mechanics and postural control with management of trunk pressures. Using Dr. Massery’s model of postural control (Soda Pop Can Model), the speaker will link breathing mechanics with motor and physiologic behaviors (a multi-system perspective). The speaker will present novel research demonstrating the role of vocal folds as postural stabilizers, extending the concept of “core stability” from the vocal folds on the top of the trunk to the pelvic floor on the bottom. Numerous interventions will be presented that use positioning and ventilatory strategies to optimize motor performance. Multiple patient cases will be presented throughout the course. The emphasis of the course will be on developing practical, quick clinical solutions for pediatric and adult patients in all practice settings.


Dates and Locations
 
Register Address:   Live Webinar
Location:   Live Webinar
Dates:   10-22-2021 - 10-23-2021, 12:00AM 12:00AM
Instructor(s):  

Accommodation(s):