Continuing Education Insight
Georgia Continuing Education Update
By: Lindsey Tatum, Milestone Continuing Education
Georgia physical therapists and physical therapy assistants have an upcoming continuing education deadline of December 31, 2013. This article will provide the details of these requirements, and review the rules for Class 1 and 2 CE courses as provided by the Georgia Board of Physical Therapy (see Policy 7 for physical therapy continuing education rules).
PTs and PTAs licensed in the state of Georgia are required to complete at least thirty (30) hours of physical therapy continuing education courses by December 31, 2013 in order to qualify for license renewal. According to the Georgia PT Board Website, an hour of physical therapy CE is equal to one clock hour, or sixty (60) minutes. Physical therapy continuing education is defined by the Board as “…planned learning experiences which have content beyond the licensee’s present level of knowledge and competence…” (Source: Policy #7; Paragraph 2).
Planned learning experiences include physical therapy seminars, and online continuing education for physical therapists and PT assistants. Additionally, effective 2013, all PTs and PTAs registered to practice in the state of Georgia are required by the Board to take the electronic GA Jurisprudence Exam through the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.
Georgia physical therapy CE courses are divided into two categories based on content and approval; Class 1 and Class 2. Therapists are limited to 10 hours of Class 2 courses. It is also important to note that per the Georgia board rules, each therapist may only submit 10 contact hours per day. For example, if a therapist purchases a 30 hour bundle pack with three 10 hour modules, they may only submit one exam per day to comply with Georgia Board rules.
Georgia PTs and PTAs are urged to gather their CEUs and get a head start on their deadline. There’s no time to be shy! The deadline, and the busiest time of year, is quickly approaching!
This post was provided by Lindsey Tatum from Milestone Continuing Education.
Milestone Continuing Education is an approved provider of physical therapist and physical therapy assistant continuing education by the Georgia Physical Therapy Board. Look for our discount on the homepage of RehabEdge.com.
Disclaimer: It is ultimately the responsibility of the practitioner to be aware of changes to their continuing education requirements. Check your state board’s website to insure you are up to date on your requirements, as they frequently change.